Alice Twillie

Recent posts

Forrest General Presents First “Red Carpet Event” To Honor Employees

HATTIESBURG- Forrest General’s star employees of care walked the red carpet on January 11 at the first annual “Red Carpet Event,” hosted by the hospital at the historic Saenger Theater in Downtown Hattiesburg.

This awards event, which will be held annually, was modeled after the classic Academy Awards show and served to honor several categories of awards given to Forrest General employees. Employees honored during the evening’s event included Forrest General’s Top Performers of 2010, which were based on patient feedback; We C.A.R.E. Award recipients who were honored for upholding the hospital’s We C.A.R.E. philosophy; and Service Award recipients who were recognized for years of service to the organization. This event also publicly honored the hospital’s 2010 Employee of the Year, Kathy Jones, who was announced as the winner during Forrest General’s annual Employee Christmas Party in December.

Also honored were the four winners of the 5th Annual Philip Rogers Quality Award. The award is named for Dr. Philip Rogers, a nephrologist with Hattiesburg Clinic, who dedicated 32 years of his life to serving the people of South Mississippi as a physician, mentor and humanitarian. Dr. Rogers, Forrest General’s first nephrologist, was known as a kind-hearted, brilliant physician and great medical staff leader, and was greatly admired and respected for his commitment to his patients and the medical field. Four recipients, each influential and important members of Hattiesburg’s medical community, were announced during the evening’s presentation and honored for their roles as a humanitarian, innovator, leader or mentor.

The star-studded extravaganza featured guest speaker Mayor Johnny DuPree and local celebrity emcee Randy Swan of WDAM-TV. Attendees were treated to special performances by the Forrest General Spirit Girls.

The following is a list of those Forrest General staff members and physicians who were honored as winners during the Red Carpet Event:

“Most Mentioned” Nominees:

Best Supporting Role for Most Mentioned: Richard Jones, Emergency Department

Best Leading Role for Most Mentioned: Stephanie Woods, 4FB

Most Mentioned Physician: Hilton Gillespie, M.D.

“Patient Pleaser” Nominees:

Best Supporting Role for Patient Pleaser: Brian Garcia, 9T

Best Leading Role for Patient Pleaser: Alice Twillie, Same Day Surgery

“Above and Beyond” Nominees:

Best Supporting Role for Above and Beyond: Donna Beard, Registration

Best Leading Role for Above and Beyond: Randa Anderson, 4FB

“Golden Needle” Nominees:

Best Supporting Role for Golden Needle: Angela Carter, 3T

Best Leading Role for Golden Needle: Sarah Cooley, 4FB

“Personal Touch” Nominees:

Best Supporting Role for Personal Touch: Sky Williams, Emergency Department

Best Leading Role for Personal Touch: Rose Contreras, Environmental Services

“Friendly Face” Nominees:

Best Supporting Role for Friendly Face: Wanda Wilborn, CCU

Best Leading Role for Friendly Face: Tammy Mills, Registration

“Setting the Standard” Nominees:

Best Supporting Role for Setting the Standard: Brittany Brown, 8T

Best Leading Role for Setting the Standard: Maria Lee, Pine Grove

Several long-time Forrest General employees were recognized for giving 35 years of service to Forrest General and its patients. Pictured, from left are 35-year award recipients Donnie Sue Drane, Ka Russum, Howard Nobles (accepting on behalf of Donna Gipson), Ora Lee Shaheed, Elease Godbolt, Toni Hudson, Susie Morris and Pam Breland.

Service Awards – 35 Years of Service

Vicki Lee

Susie Morris

Pamela Breland

Gussie Donald

Ora Lee Shaheed

Donnie Sue Drane

Ka Russum

Elease Godbolt

Michael Harris

Donna Gipson (accepted by Howard Nobles)

We C.A.R.E. Awards

Ramona Ridley, Outpatient Rehab, LiveWell Center

Evelyn Revies, Registration

Kizzy Reese, 4T

Martin Ready, Home Care

Philip Rogers Quality Award

Winners of the 5th Annual Philip Rogers Quality Award are, from left, Tom Messer, M.D.; Betty Bly Hatten, RN; Clint White, M.D. and Allen Harris, M.D.

Innovator: Clint White, M.D.

Leadership: Tom Messer, M.D.

Mentor: Allen Harris, M.D.

Humanitarian: Betty Bly Hatten, RN

Employee of the Year

Employee of the year Kathy Jones pauses for a photo with USM Football Player Martez Smith, both special guests at the Red Carpet Event. Smith attended to thank Forrest General employees for the outstanding care provided and to present Jones with her award.

Kathy Jones, Registration